When managing a Multi-User Account it can be helpful to organize the users of the account into groups. This allows you to control which documents, and which pages within documents, each user can access. Only those users with an Administrator account are able to modify these settings.

Each user with access to your account is a member of one or more groups. For each document in your account, you can determine which of these groups are allowed to edit and view it.

For more detailed guides on how to control access for editing, viewing, and page-based viewing, see:

Default Groups

New accounts will start with three levels of access:

  • Administrators - members of this group can view and edit all projects. They can also add new users, create groups, and change the level of user access.
  • Edit Projects - members of this group can view and edit all projects.
  • View Projects - members of this group can view all projects. By default, all new users will be added to this group.

Creating Groups

To create a group of users:

  1. Make sure your account is set up as a Multi-User Account.
  2. Go to your company Settings page.
  3. Scroll down to the Groups section. Here you will see the list of existing groups set up in your account.
  4. Click on + New Group. You will be taken to a new page.
  5. Enter a Group name.
  6. Enter any group's notes in the Notes section.
  7. Tick or un-tick the Explore checkbox based on whether or not you want users in this group to be able to use Explore mode. Users with enabled Explore mode have access to all of the data in your document, so this option is not appropriate for restricting access to parts of the data.
  8. Click Save.

This group will now appear in the list of groups on the Settings page.

Assigning User Accounts to Groups

Each user account in a multi-user account can be assigned to one or more groups.

You can assign a user to groups when first adding the users to your account. New user accounts are created by going to the Settings page and clicking the + New User button at the bottom of the Users section. By default, the Group membership setting will be set to View Projects, but you can choose different groups from the list. Assign a user to multiple groups by holding Ctrl and selecting multiple groups.

You can change the groups that a user is assigned to at any time as follows:

  1. On the Settings page, scroll down to the Users section.
  2. Click on the name of the user you want to change.
  3. Change the selections in the Group membership box.
  4. Click Save.

Choosing which groups may access a document

Access is assigned to each individual document. To set the access for a document:

  1. Go to the Documents page.
  2. Hover over the name of the document that you want to change, click the box with 3 dots and then select Settings.
  3. Expand the Properties section.
  4. Change the selections in Authorized for view only window to choose which groups may view the document but not edit it.
  5. Change the selections in Authorized for view and edit window to choose which groups of users can edit the document (in addition to being able to view it).
  6. Click Save.

Note that you can expand the User with Access section to display a list of users who have access to the document along with their current group membership.

Restricting access to individual pages (tab-based access)

You can also restrict pages in your document so that only certain groups of users are able to view them. This may be appropriate when you have a large document and some results are only relevant to some of the end-users.

It is important to note that users assigned to one of the default groups (Administrators, Edit Projects, or View Projects), will be able to access and view all the pages in your document. As a result, any user who is to be restricted to individual pages must not be a member of any of the default groups.

To choose which user groups can view each page of the document:

  1. Create your document.
  2. Publish it for the first time using Export > Web Page.
  3. When publishing, choose the option Login and password required.
  4. Go to the document's Settings.
  5. Expand the Properties section.
  6. Scroll down to the bottom and click Set tab-based access to document.
  7. For each Tab (page), select the groups you wish to grant access to the page. You can make multiple selections by holding CTRL.
  8. Click Save.

Please note that publishing a free document privately will convert the document type to professional. Publishing a document privately requires a Professional Displayr license and server time for private dashboards. See Free vs Professional Documents for more information about document types.

Enable a document to change based on the user's group membership

It is possible to set up a document so that it changes the sample and outputs that are shown based on the group membership of the user who is viewing the document. This means that you can create pages that show only data that is relevant to the person who is viewing the document. For instance, you may create a document that contains survey responses for different departments within your organization, and create a filter selecting only responses that relate to the department of the user who is logged in to view the document.

In an R Output or R Variable, the following special code will always create a vector that contains the names of the groups of the current user:

QViewModeUserGroups

Your R code can then make decisions based on the groups that are shown. See here for a detailed example of how to set this up.